Collapse. 

​Maybe this isn’t 

The right place to

Write this, 

Wrapped by the nakedness

Of dark

With the devil’s lips

Voicing

Words that would never

Leave my own. 

I thought I’d find peace here, 

At the depths where

The wind doesn’t roar… 

The water doesn’t splash… 

The sun doesn’t burn… 

& where

The moon

Can take off its crown of

Dead stars

& lay behind the earth… 

I thought I’d find peace here, 

Alone with the

Silence

Of the night… 

I thought I’d find peace here… 

At the height where

God

Whispers life

Into newborn suns… 

But in this path I chose

I realised how much 

My demons

Feed on the loneliness, 

And this world of

Suns & stars

Becomes a void, 

And nothing is ever enough

To sate the emptiness… 

& where I thought I was

Found, 

I became lost again, 

& the peace

Quickly became

Chaos. 

Maybe this isn’t 

The right place to 

Write this, 

But it is all my fingers have

As is

The wind

To my breath… 

The blood

To my heart… 

The Shahada 

To my tongue… 

Leave a Reply

