The Elements of Me. 

Water:
I was born by the womb

Of a 19 year old girl

Into the blue world, 

Cut from the bond of a love

Deep enough

To brush fingers

With the

Ocean floor. 

I was born with pain, 

& a sorrow that

Threatened

My very life itself… 

She was young, 

But the world had taken

Every petal

Around her eyes, 

And even

Bees & butterflies

Would urge their wings

To ride them away

From her. 

But she let this fruit grow, 

Let it whirl & turn

And clot from

Blood 

Cut for Almighty… 

I am born from the womb

Of a 19 year old girl, 

From a love that broke

Water, 

And amongst the tears

I tasted for the first time

The breath of

Air. 

Air:
The day was cold… 

I remember how the rain

Seemed to sting even

The tarmac, 

Taking out the warmth

For whoever

Took its path… 

I remember the clouds, 

& the sour air

That drowned

In the stench of sorrow that

Dripped

From the earthen eyes

Of my mother, 

And how it felt like

Even the sky

Was sick… 

I remember the cracking,

The shatter of glass

And the shards

Beneath the world’s feet, 

As it kicked my heart sore.. 

Most of all

I remember the

Breaking… 

The death of everything

That kept her whole

As the rain

Bathed in the voice of her cries… 

I saw the world then, 

At the first time I ever saw her cry, 

I saw the world

Take

The fire in her eyes…

Fire:
She smelled like

A dozen roses, 

Crushed and mawed

By the dryest sun

So the world could

Smell

Like rain.. 

She was outspoken, 

Never let anyone

Not hear her voice, 

But her silence… 

I heard her loudest in

Her silence… 

Like she was lost

Somewhere

In the chambers of her heart, 

Hoping there was

Someone outside to

Call out to her, 

But there was no sound

But echoes

Of her own ghosts… 

And yet to me, 

She was the brightest

Even within the shadows

Beneath her eyes, 

And I knew

With her, 

I will always be ash

To that fire. 

I’ve been in love with

Light

Ever since… 

Light:

There was an allure

In the night… 

A calling… 

A spell that guides

Blind bats

In the

Nothingness

Of the phantom dark… 

And even in the light 

I let myself

Wander

To its very edge, 

Where the world was

Torn in between

Black & white. 

The voices were louder here… 

Of enticement & fear… 

Of danger & adventure… 

Of sin & desire… 

And in the breath of seconds

The white cloud 

I once sailed

Became entagled in

Grey, 

And it was all that was needed

To make me rain. 

For a long while I was

This thing that

Took away 

The sun, 

This thing that

Wrought the longest

Autumn

For the

Coldest winter… 

This thing that

Brings out everything

Into its breakage, 

And leaves nothing

Dry. 

But once, 

In my moments, 

I met with mountains, 

And they spoke of

Life & laughter that grew

In my passing, 

And it was the only times

I fell

For the earth

Earth:
It calls to me

All the time, 

This earth, 

Haunting & tormenting

The heels

At my feet, 

Ticking to the rhythm

Of my

Heartbeat. 

I remember when I was told

Of his stroke, 

The urgency that tied

Cords

In my grandmother’s voice

As the weariness

Set in, 

Gathering every strength

She was left with

Into a wave

Birthed

To wash her away… 

“He’s critical”

She said, 

And all of a sudden 

There were

Stars

Before my eyes

As the earth beneath me

Left an abyss

In its stead… 

I remember the fear, 

The worry that wailed

In winds

Bruised

By jagged tears

Avalanched 

From my worried mind… 

And all the while I was walking

The earth

Haunted me, 

And opened

Graves

That swallowed me whole… 

Leave a Reply

